The 2020 and 21 enacted laws have removed restrictions that bound the ADUs in California. The new measures promote the ADU construction to aid in business promotion. It also aids in reducing the housing crisis because of the ever-growing population. The California assembly bills 881, and 68 are well explained to protect the ADU sector.
It’s no Longer a Rule for Owner Occupancy to Build
It’s not a must like before to live in your home to construct an adu California. It’s a great chance that benefits both landlords and investors. They can apply for accessory dwelling units for investment and rental properties. The ADUs approved before 1st January 2025 will not face owner occupancy restrictions.
The Overrule of Restrictions for Homeowners’ Associations
If you are in a one-family residential zoned area, it’s now possible to construct and rent an ADU on your land. You can do this even if the homeowners association prohibits or restricts it. You can also build an ADU even if your primary home is for historic preservation or residing in any historic district.
Setback, lot, and Size Requirements are Eased.
The law now prohibits municipalities about minimum lot sizes and many other restrictions on ADUs. It’s now possible to make an ADU of 800 sq ft and a JADU of 500 sq ft attached to your home regardless of the lot size. It’s now easy to convert unused areas to living rooms like garages and storage rooms. The laws permit the building of setbacks at 4 feet to double the building space. The only standing laws on setbacks are fire codes.
More Financial Support
Local agencies for housing must have plans to promote and incentivizes the building of ADUs. The California Department of Housing and community development (HCD) developed state financial incentives. It also developed grants relating to the following:
- Affordable housing
They all aim to make ADUs more affordable.
Lowered or Removed Fees
The ADUs of at most 750 sq ft doesn’t pay fees imposed on them by special districts, water companies, and local agencies. Units over 750 sq ft get charged based on square ADU square footage and primary home square home. For capacity charges and utility connection fees, the converted ADUs from the existing spaces (JADU) are no longer considered new residential unless made with one new family.
Easier and Faster Permitting
Previously, multifamily and single-family permits took 120 days to get denied or approved. Currently, this process is easy since they take only 60 days to get done. The standard statewide laws and regulations mean the approval process is easy.
Limited Parking Requirements
Building ADUs in existing carports, parking structures, and garages no longer need the provision of replacement parking spaces. The ADU parking standards are not stiff as before if your ADU is within walking distance of public transit.
Do these new changes make you eligible to build an ADU? You need to pick the no-commitment assessment and get the perfect ADU that fits your property.